Mangalore July 25: After huge victory for Congress and humiliating defeat for BJP in Mangalore Cosatal belt in recent assembly polls, many believed the local/national media reports saying ‘The Sangh Parivar is loosing its base in Mangalore’.

But the reality is different!


Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishat (ABVP), a premier student organisation of Sangh Parivar, which follows Swami Vivekananda’s Ideology and having Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh RSS as its ideological mentor, it was well accepted once again by the youth population of Mangalore. This was seen when college elections were held in Mangalore Zone colleges in last 2 weeks of July.

Performance of ABVP if increased highly Mangalore Vibhag, which comprises Dakshina Kannada, Udupi, Kodagu districts.

Colleges Won by ABVP:

Mangalore City: 08

Vitla: 02

Puttur: 04

Ramukunja: 02

Bellare: 02

Subramanya: 02

Sullya: 04

Belthangadi: 03

Ujire: 01

Mudipu/Kanyana/Adyanadka: 01

Bantwal: 02

Kushal Nagar: 02

Madikeri: 01

Mudabidire: 02

Karkala: 02

Udupi: 02

Hebri/Hiriyadka/Barkoor: 01

Kaup: 02

Mulky: 01

Kundapur: 02

Baindoor: 01


‘ABVP won at 45 colleges of Mangalore Zone, However NSUI, the student wing of  ruling Congress party, has shown poor performance, could manage to win only 3 colleges, while SFI gets 1 and Campus Front of India could not open its account’, said Ramesh, an ABVP functionary.

ABVP wins Mangalore University election: Daiji World Report.


Mangalore, Jul 19: Akhila Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) has scored a huge victory in the Mangalore University students’ union elections, winning 26 of the 31 seats.

The election at Mangalore University has always generated much interest among the students. In this year’s election, representatives from ABVP, NSUI and CFI had contested.

In the election, ABVP by securing 26 out of 31, won the elections with majority. NSUI managed to garner only 5 seats while Campus Front of India (CFI) did not open its account.

Sandesh K L, IIIrd BSc was elected the president of the student council, Mahesh Raj from IIIrd BA as secretary, Avinash from IIIrd BA as fine arts secretary, Shwetha from IIIrd BBM as joint secretary and Pavitra from IIIrd B Com as fine arts joint secretary.


After the election, student association officials like state secretary Ramesh K, city secretary Yathish Kumar, former president Guru Prasad, Tejassu, Yashodara congratulated the winners.

The ABVP activists then took out a victory rally in the city. The rally started from University College and passed through AB Shetty circle, clock tower, KS Rao road, PVS circle, MG Road, MCC, Gokarnath college, Ladyhill, Lalbagh, Bunts Hostel, Jyothi and Hampankatta.

ABVP representatives have also won in various college elections. ABVP will not allow campus politics in the colleges, said a media release.


Image Courtesy: DaijiWorld

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.