New Delhi May 26: Setting a history in Indian democracy,  Narendra Modi sworn in as Prime Minister of India, being the second RSS Swayamsevak to reach the post after Atal Bihari Vajapeyee. Narendra Damodardas Modi, 63, today took the oath as the 15th Prime Minister of India at the biggest-ever swearing-in ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhavan. President Pranab Mukherjee chaired the oath taking ceremony.


The swearing in ceremony was attended by RSS functionaries Dattatreya Hosabale, Suresh Soni, Indresh Kumar, Ram Madhav, VHP’s Ashok Singhal, Samskrita Bharari’s Dinesh Kamat, Itihas Sankalan Samiti’s Balamukund, Rashtra Sevika Samitis Shanthakka, Bharatiy Kisan Sanghs Dinesh Kulakarni, Hindu Manch’s Ashok Prabhakar Thinker Vinay Sahasrabuddhe along with few other top Sanghparivar functionaries.

Pakistan PM Nawaz Sharif, Afghan President Hamid Karzai, Napalese PM Sushil Koirala and Bhutanese PM Tshering Tobgay, Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapaksa, Former President APJ Abdul Kalam and Pratibha Patil, former Prime Ministers Dr Manmohan Sing, HD Devegouda, leaders of NDA and UPA, and several other VVIP’s attended the event.

Sanghaparivar leaders met LK Advani during Narendra Modi's swearing in ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhavan
Sanghaparivar leaders met LK Advani during Narendra Modi’s swearing in ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhavan

Karnataka’ s well known Adichunchanagiri Mutt’s Nirmalanandanatha Swamiji, Pejawar Seer Vishwesha Theertha Swamiji, Sri Sri Ravishankar, Satyamitrananda Swamiji, Guru Govind Devgiri, Ramesh Bhai Ojha, Vijay Koushal Maharaj and several other religious leaders attended.

On Monday, RSS Sarasanghachalak Mohan Bhagwat attended Central Zone level (includes Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh) Sangh Shiksha Varg being held at Bhopal. Sangh Shiksha Varg is the the ongoing annual training programme from May 18 to June 8 is aimed at training officers who would manage the RSS organisational activities. 

A total of 45 ministers including 24 cabinet ministers, 11 Ministers of State, 10 Ministers with Independent Charge took oath and sworn in as ministers, will be part of Modi’s govt, during the ceremony.

It has been a prolific rise for a man who joined the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) in 1971 as a pracharak and went on to be elected as the Chief Minister of Gujarat for four consecutive times. After leading the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) to a stunning mandate in the recent Lok Sabha polls by winning over 280 seats, Modi will now be the Prime Minister of India’s for the next 5 years.


Noted actor, activist Anupam Kher  greets RSS Sahsarakaryavah Dattatreya Hosabale
Noted actor, activist Anupam Kher greets RSS Sahsarakaryavah Dattatreya Hosabale

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.